And This is What A Target Addiction Gets You…

Sometimes when I’m bored, I go to Target and just wander around the store. As I am bored at least once a week, this happens pretty regularly. For the past few months, my boredom also leads to a giant mistake: I walk into the book section.

And this is how I ended up with a copy of Priscille Sibley’s The Promise of Stardust.

It also didn’t help that it was a signed first edition.

I had a hard time putting this book down. It has to do with a man whose (unknown to anyone but her) suffers a fall and has irreparable brain damage, the kind where the doctors tell you “There is no hope for any sort of recovery” and you have to make the God-awful decision of pulling the plug.

So what happens when you throw a pregnancy into the mix, especially when the woman in question, while really really wanting a child, also really really did not want to be kept alive by machines?

This story explores that conundrum, touching on legal aspects and all the people in a victim’s life that crawl out of the woodwork in order to demand a semblance of control, an idea that yes, they were there and mattered to this person.

It also deals with who has the final say in what happens, and how it affects families. It was a really good read, and sadly, one good read leads to more “Target book club may be on to something!” selections.

My boredom and my addiction has only managed to increase my to-read pile.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Books Just Because

Leave a Reply

